To: Ojai Basin Groundwater Management Agency Board of Directors

From: Cece VanDerMeer

Date: August 11, 2014

Subject: Minutes of the Board Meeting of July 31, 2014

The Regular Meeting of the Ojai Basin Groundwater Management Agency was called to order at 5:00 PM at the Pope Plaza Conference Room.

<u>Attendees were</u>: Board Members: Jerry Conrow; President, Roger Essick, Ken Petersen and Russ Baggerly and Secretary/Treasurer Cece VanDerMeer.

Also in attendance: Stephen Cullen; D.B. Stephens & Associates, Elizabeth Martinez; Ventura County Watershed Protection District and William Ulrich; Gridley Water Company.

- 1. **PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD**: None
- **2. Minutes:** On motion by Essick and 2nd by Baggerly the minutes of the May 29, 2014, 2014 meeting were approved.
- **3. Treasurer's Report:** The Treasurer's reports were received and filed.
- 4. **Kear Groundwater Service Contract:** Kear presented his proposal for his firms 2014 rates. As authorized in 2010, Kear Groundwater currently provides professional representation and miscellaneous consulting services at a fixed monthly rate of \$1,200. Except for specific actions directed by the Board, including grant application preparation and equipment purchases. Kear included a list of the typical monthly activities his firm performs the Ojai Basin Groundwater Management Agency (OBGMA). Kear requested that his firm modify the agreement between the OBGMA and Kear Groundwater to reflect their 2014 rates and invoice the OBGMA monthly for actual time and expenses incurred, as directed by the board at each months meeting.

Baggerly asked Kear if the monthly rate and the actual hourly rate balance out. Kear pointed out that some months exceed the current monthly rate yet some months are less. Baggerly made a motion to switch from the monthly rate the time and material rate starting July 2014. Essick seconded the motion and the motion was passed unanimously.

- 5. Resolution 2014-2 Approving the Fiscal Year Budget for Fiscal Year 2014-2015: No action necessary; Resolution was approved during the June 12, 2014 Special Meeting.
- 6. Resolution #2014-3 Levying Extraction Charges for Fiscal Year: No action necessary: Resolution was approved during the June 12, 2014 Special Meeting.
- 7. Letters to John Lair (Secretary for Resources) and Mark W. Cowin (Department of water Resources): Letters were approved as prepared and Board directed VanDerMeer to mail them out and include a copy of the Annual Report.
- 8. Drought Conditions: Conrow suggested that a letter regarding a June 2014 update on the Basin Key Well along with a graph and information on conservation ideas be included with the mailing of the semi-annual well owner statements.

Baggerly presented a list of updates to be added to the OBGMA web site. VanDerMeer suggested that a meeting be scheduled with Dave Reeser (web designer, Ojai Digital), Baggerly and VanDerMeer to discuss the updates and provide direction to Reeser. VanDerMeer will schedule the meeting for the following week.

9. Progress Reports:

- a. San Antonio Creek Recharge Project V-2 New Grant Application Pending Prop 84 Implementation: Elizabeth Martinez will be attending the July 31, 2014 meeting with a project update.
- **b. Basin Water Level Report:** Petersen reported that the San Antonio Well #4 was off and the static level was 242'. Petersen reported that the Mutual #5 well was pumping at 315 gpm with a pump level of 373'.
- **c. Kear Groundwater monthly Report:** Kear showed a power point presentation of the transducer activity.
- **d. Report on Transducer Installations:** Current targeted wells are the Conrow well and the Elrod well. Signed authorizations from

each well owner have been received and Kear stated that installations are pending.

10. Director Reports and Comments (Board Members):

Ojai Water Conservation District: None

Mutual's: None City Of Ojai: None

Golden State Water Company: None Casitas Municipal Water District: None

ADJOURN -- The meeting was adjourned at 5:50 pm. The next regular meeting will be July 31, 2014 at 5:00 p.m.

Jerry L. Conrow, President